• View Another State

Colorado IBA Contact

Zach Hutchinson

Colorado IBAs by Type

IBA Priority Number Acres
Global 3 545,076
State 50 823,121
Total 53 1,368,197

The Colorado IBA program began in 1999. During the first year, Rocky Mountain Bird Observatory (formerly known as Colorado Bird Observatory), with help from Audubon-Colorado (the Colorado state office of National Audubon Society), worked to facilitate a first round of site nominations and reviews. Coordinators formed a Technical Review Committee, consisting of seven respected volunteers form the Colorado birding community. The committee then determined state-specific criteria for decision-making. A site must meet only one of the criteria to qualify as an IBA, though most will meet several. In the spring of 2000, sole responsibility for coordinating Colorado's program shifted to Audubon-Colorado. Colorado now has 54 IBA's that have been accepted by the Colorado IBA committee. These 54 sites consist of over 1,200,000 acres (485,640 hectares) of protected land and water throughout Colorado. Some of the more common sites that are nationally recognized as popular tourist destinations are Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado National Monument, Mesa Verde National Park and the Pawnee National Grasslands to name a few. All of the IBA's in Colorado are monitored closely with the help of state parks, conservation organizations, fellow Auduboners, volunteers, avid birders and the general public with an interest in conserving these precious areas.

Please note that the IBA map displayed above and the list below do not include more recently designated IBAs. To request a complete spatial dataset please submit your request here. A summary of recently designated Colorado IBAs can be downloaded here.

Site Namesort descending Status Priority Counties IBA Criteria
Adobe Creek Reservoir Recognized State Bent, Kiowa D3, D4ii, D4iv, D4v, D5
Aiken Canyon Preserve Recognized State El Paso D3, D5
Alamosa and Monte Vista National Wildlife Refuge Complex Recognized State Alamosa, Rio Grande D4ii, D4iii, D4iv, D4v, D4vi, D5
Alfred M. Bailey Bird Nesting Area Recognized State Summit D3, D5
Arapaho National Wildlife Refuge Recognized State Jackson
Barr Lake State Park Recognized State Adams D4ii, D4iii, D5
Bear Creek Valley Recognized State Clear Creek, Jefferson
Blanca Wetlands Recognized State Alamosa D3, D4iii, D4iv, D4v, D4vi
Bonny Lake State Park and South Republican Management Area Recognized State Yuma D3, D4ii
Box Canyon Falls and Park Recognized State Ouray
Browns Park National Wildlife Refuge Recognized State Moffat D4ii
Brush Prairie Ponds State Wildlife Area Recognized State Morgan D4ii
Canyons of the Ancients National Monument Recognized State Montezuma D3
Carpenter Ranch/ Yampa River Preserve Recognized State Routt D3, D5
Castlewood Canyon State Park Recognized State Douglas
Chatfield Basin Conservation Network Recognized State Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson D3, D4ii, D4iii, D4vi, D5
Chatfield State Park Recognized State Douglas, Jefferson D3, D4ii, D4iii, D5
Colorado National Monument Recognized State Mesa D3
Comanche National Grassland Recognized Global Baca
Denver City Park Lakes Recognized State Denver D4iii


Displaying 1 - 20 (of 53)

Stay abreast of Audubon

Our email newsletter shares the latest programs and initiatives.