Audubon Leader Comments on Nomination of Sally Jewell for Interior Secretary

Mike Daulton, V.P. of Government Relations for the National Audubon Society, praised President Obama’s nomination of REI president Sally Jewell: “Audubon welcomes Sally Jewell’s leadership to the top job in America dedicated to preserving our great national heritage.  Sally Jewell received Audubon’s Rachel Carson Award for good reason: She is a dedicated conservationist and a strong leader who understands that protecting our natural world goes hand in hand with a strong American economy.”

Sally Jewell is president and CEO of Recreational Equipment, Inc. (REI), a national outdoor gear and apparel retailer dedicated to inspiring, educating and outfitting people for a lifetime of outdoor adventure and stewardship. Additionally, Jewell sits on the boards of the National Parks Conservation Association, Mountains to Sound Greenway Trust, Initiative for Global Development and the University of Washington. She also served on The National Forum on Children and Nature Advisory Board, and the National Parks Second Century Commission. 

In 2009 Jewell received Audubon’s Rachel Carson Award. The prestigious award, launched in 2004, recognizes visionary women whose dedication, talent and energy have advanced the environmental education locally and on a global scale. Other winners include Frances Beinecke, President of NRDC; Sigourney Weaver, actress and environmental activist; Bette Midler, founder of the New York Restoration Project; Teresa Heinz Kerry, chair of the Heinz Endowments and the Heinz Family Philanthropies; Majora Carter, founder and executive director of Sustainable South Bronx, and Laurie David, producer of “An Inconvenient Truth.”    

Washington state-based REI is known for its conservation initiatives, including grants to several Audubon Centers to support diversity. The support made nature experiences engaging and accessible for people of all backgrounds—including residents of underserved communities in Saint Louis, San Francisco, Brooklyn and Philadelphia.