Audubon Gala

Inspiring a new generation of conservation leaders

The National Audubon Society is pleased to join in a celebration of birds, nature, and outstanding conservation leaders. Johnny Morris and Family will be presented with the Audubon Medal and J. Drew Lanham, PhD  with the Dan W. Lufkin Prize for Environmental Leadership.

The National Audubon Society cordially invites you to the 2019 Audubon Gala

Thursday, February 7, 2019

The Plaza Hotel
Fifth Avenue at Central Park South
New York City

6:30 pm Cocktails
7:15 pm Dinner and Awards

Festive Business Attire
For more information, please contact:
Courtney Osit Constant
You can share in the celebration and help us protect birds and the places they need.
Checks Payable To:
National Audubon Society

Mail to:
Audubon Events
225 Varick Street, Fl 7
New York, NY 10014


Recipients of the Audubon Medal

Johnny Morris and Family

Founder and CEO of Bass Pro Shops, Johnny Morris has been called a modern-day Teddy Roosevelt for his leadership and dedication to conservation. He has worked with every Republican and Democratic administration since 1978 to advance significant conservation issues and inspired his four children to follow in his conservation footsteps, both in their business endeavors and philanthropy. The latest of his many initiatives to enable new audiences to discover the outdoors, the Wonders of Wildlife National Aquarium & Museum in Springfield, Missouri, is the largest, most immersive conservation attraction in the world. Johnny’s partnership with Audubon and other conservation organizations ensures that this state-of-the-art facility will inspire visitors to join him and his family as stewards of our nation’s natural resources.


Recipient of the Dan W. Lufkin Prize for Environmental Leadership

J. Drew Lanham, Ph.D.

J. Drew Lanham, Ph.D. is Alumni Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master Teacher and Certified Wildlife Biologist at Clemson University. In his twenty years at Clemson, Drew has researched the impacts of forest management on wildlife and explored the relationship between human beings and nature. An acclaimed author (The Home Place: Memoirs of a Colored Man's Love Affair with Nature), he speaks to a new and diverse generation with a message that resonates through the ages: “Place and land and nature: how we tie these things together is critical to our sense of self-purpose and our fit in the world. They are the trinity.” Drew embodies the new diverse conservation movement Audubon is committed to building—he is a member of the Audubon Board of Directors and chairs the Advisory Board of Audubon South Carolina.



Audubon Gala Golden Eagle Supporters

Mr. and Mrs. Coleman P. Burke

Joseph and Barbara Ellis

The Lauder Foundation - Leonard and Judy Lauder Fund

The Lufkin Family Foundation - Dan and Adrienne Lufkin

Sarah Jeffords

Sonia and Paul T. Jones

Philip A. Swan

Maggie Walker

Gala Sponsors

Previous Audubon Medal Awardees

First awarded in 1947, recipients have since included Walt Disney, Rachel Carson, Ted Turner, Edward O. Wilson, former President Jimmy Carter, and the Rockefeller family.

Dan W. Lufkin Prize for Environmental Leadership

The Lufkin Prize for Environmental Leadership recognizes individuals who have dedicated their entire lives to the environment and on-the-ground conservation.

Stay abreast of Audubon

Our email newsletter shares the latest programs and initiatives.